Bye Bye 2016

The end is nigh! 2016 is about to finish!! I have never, in my entire life, been so happy to see the end of a year. 2016 without doubt has been the worst ever for me. So as I kick it up the butt and so far back in my memories and mind, I feel it is fitting for one last whinge πŸ™‚

From pain, to bullying, to betrayal to a complete lack of support from those I thought cared, 2016 has thrown everything at me. Stupidly I thought because it is so close to the end, that I would be safe from more. Alas I was wrong.

The night before last I was out walking with my son. It had rained so hard and so heavy that day, there were many areas that had flooded. With flooding comes the inevitable mud, and stones washed onto roads and footpaths. As I walked along, not taking much notice, I walked into some mud. It was dark I didn’t see it. Next minute my right leg slips and flies up. The next I am flat on my back with my left leg bent underneath me.

I remember the slip, I don’t remember the fall. I didn’t hit my head and I didn’t break anything. I landed on my back but don’t remember any pain associated with it at all. I didn’t drop my car keys, I didn’t drop my phone. I sort of just lay there thinking “how did I get down here” My son helped me up and I checked to make sure I was okay. I was covered in mud, wet, and my knee started throbbing and my foot and ankle decided that now was the time to let me know they hurt.

At home, I showered off the mud, put ice on my knee and checked my foot out. Today my knee is bruised and there is a cut, I was on a brick footpath. It is still swollen a little but doesn’t hurt so much now. My foot is still swollen but the pain has eased a lot there as well.

So having thought I was going to survive this year, it reminded me painfully that it was not through with me just yet. Now with less than 6 hours left of this year from hell, I sit here and write to let it all out of my system. I am ready and waiting for my fairy godmother to flip the switch at exactly midnight and transport me into a new world, a new life and a new cycle.

I have written before of my plans for the new year, and while they sit comfortably in my mind at the moment, they will not be released to grow until the strike of midnight. At that time 2016 will be sent packing, out of my mind and my memories as much as is possible.

There have been lessons, and those I will not forget. Most have been painful and shook me to my core. They have allowed me to alter my thinking, my expectations and my goals and dreams. While I intend to push this year away, I know that the lessons I have learned will be remembered as a turning point in my life, and one day I may even be thankful for what this year has done for me.

So wave goodbye to this year, knowing that although it has been very hard for a lot of us, we will eventually be thankful for what it has brought us. Our gratitude for the lessons learned, the changes that they force us to make and the sadness and pain that ultimately leads to new life, will all be remembered and may even turn out to be the best year of our lives.

Look forward to the new cycle that begins, the dreams and goals you will now be able to achieve and the dawn of a new era in your life. Dream big and aim high. You deserve more than you know and more than you think you do. Raise your glass at midnight and thank the stars that you got through this year and as a result are much stronger and more able to live your life authentically.

Happy New Year.

Margaret ❀

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Bye Bye 2016

  1. Deborah

    Wow it’s really been a challenging year for you, I too have had the worst year! I shall be so happy to wave 2016 goodbye & greet 2017 with a smile.

    I had a nice Christmas as my Niece & I went to the Lake Dustrict ( UK) sadly my sister was in hospital so her husband stayed home. It was a peaceful relaxation in a wonderful location. However we went on a Ghost walk in Keswick & towards the very end I tripped on the uneven pathing stones and like you ended up on my knees! I very quickly got up ( mortified) and ended up no broken bones just bruises! Here’s wishing abundance & blessings for 2017. I look forward to reading your fabulous words. Let go of all the hurt & negativity 2016 and bring on all the positives in 2017. Happy New Year X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah Deborah, 2016’s last farewell for us, just so we remember it.Thankfully you did not break anything. thank you for being so supportive of my writing. I look forward to your comments in 2017, our most exciting and prosperous year xx

      Like

  2. Karen

    Love the rawness and coming from your beautiful heart. I know that 2017 will blow you away. Hold onto your hat it’s guna be a blast of a ride. πŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

